Rouses Point

Connu pour être le "Northern Gateway,"  le village de Rouses Point se trouve sur la rive ouest du lac Champlain et est délimité par l'État du Vermont et la province de Québec.

Fondée en 1783, Rouses Point est riche en histoire. Du pont qui relie Rouses Point à Alburgh au Vermont, on peut apercevoir les ruines du Fort Montgomery, construit dans le 19e siècle et nommé en l'honneur de Richard Montgomery, héro de la Révolution américaine. Le fort est inscrit au National Register of Historic Places.

Le D & H Roundhouse, situé sur Pratt Street, rappelle le passé de Rouses Point comme étant un village où le chemin de fer a joué un rôle important. Faisant partie de la gare de la compagnie Delaware and Hudson, cette rotonde est le dernier exemple de ce genre d'architecture sur ce système ferroviaire. Présentement en rénovation, ce bâtiment deviendra un musée à sa réouverture.

En vélo ou en marchant, il est facile de découvrir le charmant centre-ville de Rouses Point. On y retrouve des maisons historiques, des boutiques, restaurants ainsi qu'un accès aux berges du lac Champlain.

On peut suivre les traces des contrebandiers qui apportaient l'alcool illégalement du Canada. De plus, on peut profiter des parcs et l'accès au quai Montgomery. Ces endroits offrent des vues magnifiques sur le lac Champlain et les montagnes Vertes de l'État du Vermont.

Comme Rouses Point se trouve sur les berges du lac Champlain, on peut facilement y pratiquer plusieurs activités sportives et nautiques. On y retrouve aussi des marinas ainsi que des endroits pour y mettre une embarcation à l'eau, se baigner, pêcher, et pagayer sur le lac Champlain. D'autres activités incluent le vélo sur les routes scéniques de la région, marcher dans les parcs, observer les oiseaux et jouer au golf, notamment au North Country Golf Club.

L'hiver, comme Rouses Point est près du Canada, des Adirondacks et des montagnes Vertes, il est facile d'accéder à des centres de ski reconnus mondialement et des sentiers pour pratiquer la raquette et la motoneige. On peut aussi profiter des services du Rouses Point Civic Center et y faire du patin, jouer au hockey et assister à plusieurs évènements.

Pour en savoir davantage sur le village de Rouses Point.

Évènements
vedettes

8/26
Tours of the Bluff Point Lighthouse
En savoir plus

Planificateur
de trajet

Pour trouver des accommodations, restaurants et activités sur la Côte Adirondacks.

Téléchargez
les brochures

Téléchargez les brochures de la région. Ou si vous préférez, nous pouvons vous les poster. Pour en savoir davantage sur les brochures de la région.

Visitez
notre blogue

Obtenez des nouvelles en primeur sur la côte Adirondack, y compris ce qui s'en vient et plus encore.

Rouses Point

Known as “The Northern Gateway,” Rouses Point sits on the western shores of Lake Champlain and shares a border with both Vermont and Quebec, Canada.

Fascinating history built into the stone

Founded in 1783, Rouses Point has ample history. From the Vermont Bridge, which connectsRouses Point to Alburgh, you can view 19th century Fort Montgomery, named after Revolutionary War hero General Richard Montgomery and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

The D & H Roundhouse, located on Pratt Street, offers a wonderful glimpse into Rouses Point's past as a railroad village. Part of the Delaware and Hudson Railroad station, this roundhouse is the last of its kind on this railroad system and is in the process of being restored.

Travel the "Rum Trail"!

A great way to discover Rouses Point is by foot or bike. Travel Rouses Point’s “Rum Trail,” where rumrunners once crossed into Canada with contraband booze. In addition, you can sit and relax in recreational parks or Rouses Point's new Montgomery Pier, which offers a magnificent view of Lake Champlain and the Green Mountains of Vermont.

All-season, all-weather fun

In Rouses Point's charming downtown, you can view historic homes, experience unique shops and restaurants, as well as walk along the shores of Lake Champlain.

Rouses Point offers a wide variety of outdoor recreation and water sports on Lake Champlain. You can take advantage of Rouses Point’s full-service marinas, as well as enjoy boating and sailing, swimming, fishing and paddling on Lake Champlain.

Other popular outdoor attractions include biking on the village’s scenic roads, strolling through its downtown parks, birding and golfing at the nearby North Country Golf Club.

In the winter months, Rouses Point's close proximity to Canada, the Adirondack High Peaks and the Green Mountains provides easy access to world-class skiing and riding, snowshoeing and snowmobiling. You can also visit the Rouses Point Civic Center for ice skating, hockey and a variety of events held throughout the year.

Learn more about the Village of Rouses Point.


Soaring Saturdays


From places to stay, eat and play we can help you take advantage of all the attractions and activities the Adirondack Coast offers.


Get a digital copy of the brochures about the area. Or, we can send you a printed version. This guide provides all the ins & outs of the area.

Check Out
Our Blog

Get the inside scoop on the Adirondack Coast including what's coming up and more.