Anyone over the age of 16 must have a valid New York State fishing license to fish. You may purchase a license online or by visiting or any town or county clerk in New York. Many major department stores, sporting goods stores and guides also sell New York State fishing licenses. Or you may simply mail in a form.
When fishing Lake Champlain, there is a reciprocal license agreement with Vermont though several areas are not covered. A NY-only license is not valid in Vermont’s Missisquoi Bay, Malletts Bay, or the Inland Sea. A Vermont-only license does not permit fishing in South Bay near Whitehall, NY. You may purchase a Vermont fishing license online or call 802.241.3700.
Always check the limits and other rules on the waters you plan to fish.
Law requires every person under 12 years old to wear a Coast Guard approved life jacket securely fastened and of the appropriate size. This applies on all boats up to 65 feet long, including rowboats and canoes. A life saving device for each adult must also be on board.
Tune in to 162 MHZ for changing weather and lake conditions.