Placed in service in 1874, the Bluff Point Light was one of the last lighthouses to be manned on the lake. It guided ships through the narrow passageway between the island and the New York shore for almost 60 years. Its fifth-order Fresnel lens was seen each evening from 1874 until 1930 when a steel tower was erected just south of the structure. In 2004 the lighthouse was reactivated when the light was removed from the steel tower and re-installed in the lighthouse. The Bluff Point Lighthouse is open to visitors on select dates from 1pm-3pm, transportation is not provided.